Thursday, November 30, 2017 7.30 pm
Protomoteca Room – Campidoglio, Rome


The names of the award-winners of the 28th edition of the Minerva Anna Maria Mammoliti Prize have been announced. It will take place on Thursday, November 30, at 7.30 pm, in Rome at the Protomoteca Room on the Campidoglio, under the patronage of: the Senate of the Italian Republic, the Chamber of Deputies, the Presidency of the Council of Ministers, the Lazio Region and the Capital City of Rome.

For the “Women in the world” section, this year will receive the prestigious recognition -a precious brooch representing the goddess Minerva designed in 1983 by Renato Guttuso- the following recipients: for her political commitment, Fatma ŞAHIN, Mayor of Gaziantep; for her engagement about Human and Civil Rights May CHIDIAC, Lebanese journalist and founder of the NGO May Chidiac Foundation.

The Italian recipients: for the Social Commitment section: Fiorella Tosoni, foundress of the Association “Andrea Tudisco Onlus” which operates with the objective of protecting the children’s’ right to healthcare; for the Career section: Paola BALDUCCI, Criminal Lawyer and currently secular component of the CSM (Supreme Judicial Council); for the Culture section: Cinzia ROMANI, film critic and writer; for the Leadership section Luciana LAMORGESE, Prefect of Milan; for the Competitiveness and Innovation section Angelita LUCIANI, Head of Sector for Industrial research, innovation and technological transfer at the Tuscany Region; for the Educational section Giulia MINOLI, project manager of the NGO CO2; for the Sport for social section Fabrizia D’Ottavio, former gymnast;
for the Scientific Research section Chiara DI MALTA, young researcher at the Tigem (The Telethon Institute of Genetics and Medicine) Institute in Naples.

This year the Man prize will be assigned to Filippo GRANDI, High Commissioner of the UN agency for refugees, UNHCR.


The Jury of the 28th edition, presided by Elisabetta BELLONI, Ambassador, Secretary General of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation, is composed by:

Maria ANTEZZA, MEP – Parliamentary Commission for childhood and adolescence and agriculture; Maria CONTENTO, Director General of the Presidency of the Council of Ministers; Gaetano COSCIA, Director of Institutional Relations and CSR Vodafone; Maria CRISCUOLO, President and Founder of Triumph Group International; Maria Bianca FARINA, President of Fondazione ANIA; Gianni Letta; Giovanni MALAGÒ, President of the Italian Olympic Committee; Olga MAMMOLITI SEVERI, President of “Il Club delle Donne”; Simonetta MATONE, Deputy Attorney General at the Court of Appeal in Rome; Elisabetta MUSCOLO, expert in international economic relations and manager of institutional relations at Invitalia; Simone OVART, President UN Women Italian Committee; Carla Rabitti Bedogni, President APF – Body for the keeping of the Financial Promoters rgister; Isabella RAUTI, President of the International Foundation Hands Off Women (how) NGO; Marina ROTILI, Partner at Ernst & Young Financial Business Advisors; Eugenio SANTORO, President of the San Camillo-Forlanini Foundation and President Emeritus of the Italian Society for Surgery; Pierluigi SEVERI, President of Minerva; Valeria Termini, component of the Authority for electricity and gas and a member of the Committee of Public Service Experts of the United Nations (CEPA); Beatrice TRINCHESE MARZANO, President of the NGO “nuovArmonia”; Daniela Valentini, Senator – Member of the Commission for Defence, Agriculture and Food Production, Protection and Promotion of Human rights; Daniela Paola VIGLIONE, Lecturer at the LUISS Master in Economics and Institutions of Islamic Countries- member of OTM (Osservatorio Tutti-Media).

MINERVA PRIZE, the first Italian award dedicated predominantly to Women, now in its 28th Edition, and since 2009 known as the Anna Maria Mammoliti Minerva Prize in memory of its founder, is assigned to women who operate in “knowledge” fields, which they represent symbolically, and who because of their professional capability and the positive values which they uphold are female role models. The Prize is also assigned to a man, for the professional and human contribution he has given to society. The Prize consists of a precious pin who central element is a representation of Minerva’s head designed for the Prize by Renato Guttuso. The best way of explaining what the Minerva Prize is, is to define it as “the Holding Company of Knowledge”. It is the tip of the iceberg of the multinational of female intelligence which we have managed to highlight not only with the Minerva Prize, but also with our programme of international meetings with women from other continents: Asia, Africa, North and South America.
Jury members over the years have included high-profile persons such as: Susanna Agnelli, Marisa Bellisario, Suso Cecchi D’Amico, Sandro Curzi, Alain Elkann, Franco Frattini, Renato Guttuso, Margherita Hack, Mimma Mondadori, Andrea Monorchio, Giglia Tedesco and Lina Wertmuller.
The hundreds of female winners over the years have included Women in the World recognized for their Political and Civil and Human Rights Commitment, such as: Vasso Papandreou, Former European Commissioner and Greek Minister; Simone Veil the first woman President of the European Parliament; Gisèle Halimi, French lawyer and activist; Nyaradzayi Gumbonzvanda, Secretary General of the World YWCA; Arwa Othman Yemeni Human Rights activist; Fawzia Koofi, Afghanistan’s first female Speaker of Parliament; Sheikha Lubna Al-Qasimi, United Arab Emirates’ Minister of Development and International Cooperation; Ms Safia Al Souhail, Iraqi Parliamentarian; Nouzha Skalli, Former Moroccan Minister of Social Development, Family and Solidarity; Irina Bokova, Director-General of UNESCO; Haleh Bridi, World Bank representative to the EU in 2006; Lina Ben Mhenni, Tunisian activist and blogger; Khadija Cherif, Under-Secretary-General of the International Federation for Human Rights (FIDH) and Tunisian activist: Masoumeh Ebtekar, Vice President of Iran; Roza Isakovna Otunbayeva, former President of Kyrgyzstan; Joyce Aluoch, First Vice President of the International Criminal Court; Kvennalistinn (Icelandic Womens Alliance); Viktòria Mohàcsi, Hungarian Member of the European Parliamen until 2009.


Pin It on Pinterest

Share This